Film and TV

A blast from the past: ‘RARG’

So, yesterday, I was suddenly reminded of this cartoon I had on VHS as a kid (I don’t know what caused me to remember it), and all I remembered was it was really weird and on the box there was a picture of an old man, a clock and some babies.

I spent all of yesterday evening trying to remember the name of it. I even got my parents involved, but obviously with such little information, they had no idea what I was on about.

Several fruitless Google searches involving the phrases “childrens cartoon”, “film”, “old man”, “sleeping babies”, “time machine” and “clock” later, I struck gold – I found a forum post of someone looking for what sounded like the same cartoon. And then someone told them the name: ‘RARG’.

It was exactly what I was looking for.

I ended up watching it on YouTube, and while it was still as trippy as I remembered it, there was something quite endearing and thought-provoking about it that was lost on me as a child. Not to mention, the score – composed by Philip Appleby – is absolutely luscious, with sweeping scales and arpeggios and the harp often taking a central role. I wonder if it was exposure to music like that, via film and TV soundtracks, at a young age which developed my love of music from the Romantic period? I don’t know. All I know, is ‘RARG’ is actually well worth a watch, even after all these years.

Comment

