Beauty

Homemade body scrub – perfect for shiny, immaculately shaved legs!

This evening I decided to try making my own body scrub, using a recipe I found on Tumblr. It was created as an exfoliant to use when shaving your legs, and I had seen many enthusiastic comments on it about how amazing it was, so I decided to give it a go.

What you will need

1 mug of sugar (doesn’t matter what type but I use granulated as the particles were bigger and more scrubby)
1/2 mug of oil (olive, vegetable, sunflower…again, it doesn’t really matter. I think olive oil is meant to be the best though)
3 tablespoons of lemon juice

These measurements aren’t exactly as were listed in the Tumblr post, but I used these smaller quantities and I still had more than enough, so I’d suggest going with these ones.

What you need to do is soak in a nice hot bath for a few minutes to weaken the hair follicles, then shave your legs as usual. Then put a big dollop of this scrub on each leg and rub it all in – it’ll probably feel a bit tingly at this stage! Once you’ve done this, shave again with the scrub still in place – this helps remove all the dead skin. Wash it off. Finally, scrub your legs with it again, but this time just wash it off without shaving. You might want to wash your legs with normal soap/shower gel just to get rid of the oily feeling. Dry your legs off and rub in plenty of moisturiser. Et voilà, wonderfully silky legs!

It’s also good for anywhere else you want to shave – from underarms to, ahem, more private areas. I suppose you could use it as a normal body scrub as well, for when you’re not shaving.

I’ll be honest, my legs usually feel amazing after I shave them in the bath so I have come close to this level of smoothness before, but if you’re looking for a more exfoliating, deep-cleaning shave, then this scrub is a great alternative to the more expensive shop-bought scrubs. Another benefit of this one is that you know exactly what’s gone into it – you can lather it on without fear that you’re going to have a reaction to something that was only listed in the ingredients as an obscure chemical!

I’d highly recommend this but be warned – you won’t be able to keep your (and other peoples’) hands away from your legs! 😉

Comment

