Recipes

How to make a healthy and delicious chicken curry

Recently I bought a big tub of fromage frais by accident, thinking it was yoghurt and I could put it on my Weetabix. How wrong I was. Desperately trying to find a use for it, I searched long and hard for recipes I could use it in. I was planning on trying to make chicken curry from scratch for the first time (I’ll admit – I am rather fond of Lidl’s 89p curry sauces!) so I decided to try and adapt various curry recipes I found to include fromage frais. I eventually conjured up this little recipe, and not to blow my own trumpet, but it is delicious.

What you’ll need (for two servings)

250g chicken breast, chopped into strips (I usually use Farmfoods pre-cooked chicken breast strips as it’s only £2 for 500g and mess/chopping-free)
1 tsp garlic, finely chopped
Half an onion, finely chopped
A drizzle of olive oil (to fry all this in)
200ml chicken stock
1 tsp medium curry powder (or more or less, depending on your tastes)
Generous sprinklings of salt, black pepper, coriander, paprika and turmeric
4 tbsp fromage frais (although Greek yoghurt works well too!)
Naan bread or rice
Optional extras: any other spices you fancy, bay leaves.

First of all, fry the onion and garlic until slightly brown. Add the chicken and fry until it’s also slightly brown. Pour in the stock and add salt and pepper. Stir. Add the curry powder and the various spices. Leave to simmer for 10 minutes. Finally, turn down the heat and add the fromage frais/yoghurt and stir in – doing this too early will cause it to curdle, so that’s why you need to leave it til last! Serve with either naan bread or rice (or both, if that’s how you roll). Be warned, it’s quite a liquid-y curry because of the amount of stock in it, so make sure you cook enough rice to soak it all up.

What I like about this curry is it’s really aromatic and the spices work really well with the chicken. The way it smells when it’s cooking is just amazing! It’s also pretty healthy and cheap to make, so perfect for students. Much as I love shop-bought curry sauces, I prefer making my own because I know what’s in it – I don’t tend to read the ingredients when I buy curry sauce, but I bet there would be some words I don’t recognise! I haven’t tried making a vegetarian version of it yet, but that’ll be something I’ll investigate in future. The veggie options seem endless: mixed veg, sweet potato, butternut squash, potato, Quorn (all with vegetable stock of course)…Let me know what variations you’d make!

Bon appétit!

20130428_182323

Comment

