Beauty · Personal

They put a needle through my nose!

After approximately ten years of going “oooh, they’re so pretty, I want one some day!”, “some day” finally arrived and I got my nose pierced!

noseI’d been mulling it over for a few days, and had researched the best piercing studios in the area as well as all the usual care instructions, “how painful is it” etc., so I guess you could say I was quite well-prepared. I was so sure I would chicken out but I went through with it – I had my heart set on getting it done today, and once I forced myself into walking to the studios, I found I couldn’t turn around so just bit the bullet and went in.

One of the things I made sure to do was to make sure I had some sugar in my system before getting pierced. One of my friends fainted when she got her nose pierced, and I was determined not to let it happen to me, so I went in there armed with Lucozade and a Twix. I was really really REALLY nervous and shakey, but having something to eat and drink while I waited for the studio to be set up actually made me feel a lot better.

My piercer, Sarah, was super lovely and put me right at ease. The last time I got pierced I was ten, and it was my ears done in Claire’s with a gun (a standard female childhood memory for many), so understandably I had no idea what I was about to get myself into! Sarah was so calm and friendly though, and clearly talked me through the procedure for my own peace of mind. I would definitely go back to her for any future holes (which could well happen, as I fancy a few more on my ears)!

And then came the scary part…Sarah told me to relax back and close my eyes while she put a metal tube inside my nose to catch the needle once it went through. I thought she was just doing that bit; turned out I was wrong, because a second later I felt a stingy pinching sensation. I’d read a lot of people’s reports saying that it was totally painless, so I’d been trying to comfort myself by saying “it won’t hurt! It won’t hurt!”…and well, it did hurt. Only a little bit though. Maybe a 4.5 on a 1-10 pain scale. It was more painful than I remember my ears being (they’d probably be a 2), but it was definitely bearable and the adrenalin rush afterwards, knowing that I’d been brave enough to finally go through with it, was absolutely amazing. It does still feel quite bruised, but that’s to be expected as swelling is completely normal.

So not only do I now have a lovely, lovely nose stud (complete with crystal!), I also have new-found knowledge that actually, getting pierced isn’t as scary as I had built it up to be. In fact, I might even be converted. Now, what should I get pierced next…?!

(I got my nose pierced at Tribal Body Art, just off Edinburgh’s Royal Mile. Ch-ch-check ’em out!)

Comment

